

ABOUT THE ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN STATES (ACS)

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) was created upon the signing of the Convention Establishing the ACS on 24 July 1994 in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. The ACS is an organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action among its 25 Member States and 3 Associate Members of the Greater Caribbean region. Eight other non-independent Caribbean countries are eligible for associate membership.

Members. Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

Associate Members. Aruba, France (on behalf of French Guiana, Guadeloupe and Martinique) and the Netherlands Antilles.



Founding Observers. The <u>CARICOM</u> Secretariat, the Latin American Economic System (<u>SELA</u>), the Central American Integration System (<u>SICA</u>) and the Permanent Secretariat of the General Agreement on Central American Economic Integration (<u>SIECA</u>) were declared Founding Observers of the ACS in 1996. The United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (<u>ECLAC</u>) and the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (<u>CTO</u>) were admitted as Founding Observers in 2000 and 2001 respectively.

Functions. The objectives of the ACS are enshrined in the Convention and are based on the following: the strengthening of the regional co-operation and integration process, with a view to creating an enhanced economic space in the region; preserving the environmental integrity of the Caribbean Sea which is regarded as the common patrimony of the peoples of the region; and promoting the sustainable development of the Greater Caribbean. Its current focal areas are trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters.

Organisation. The main organs of the Association are the Ministerial Council and the Secretariat. There are Special Committees on: <u>Trade</u> Development and External Economic Relations; <u>Sustainable Tourism</u>; <u>Transport</u>; <u>Natural Disasters</u>; and Budget and Administration. There is also a Council of National Representatives of the <u>Special Fund</u> responsible for overseeing resource mobilization efforts and project development.

Social Partners:

The Caribbean Medical Association (<u>AMECA</u>), the Regional Economic and Social Research Coordinator (<u>CRIES</u>), the Caribbean Shipping Association (<u>CSA</u>), the Caribbean Association of Industry and Commerce (<u>CAIC</u>), the Association of Caribbean Universities and Research Institutes (<u>UNICA</u>), the Antilles-French Guiana Regional Centre of the National Institute of Agronomical Research (<u>CRAG/INRA</u>)

Observer Countries (by date of admission).

The Kingdom of Spain, the Republic of Italy, the Republic of India, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Ecuador, the Republic of Argentina, the Russian Federation, Canada, Arab Republic of Egypt, the Republic of Peru, the Republic of Chile, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Kingdom of Morocco, the Republic of Korea, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Republic of Turkey.